Prayers for the Week: My Proverbs 31 Wife

provers-31

10 An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels.
11 The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain.
12 She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.
13 She seeks wool and flax, and works with willing hands.
14 She is like the ships of the merchant; she brings her food from afar.
15 She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household and portions for her maidens.
16 She considers a field and buys it; with the fruit of her hands she plants a vineyard.
17 She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong.
18 She perceives that her merchandise is profitable. Her lamp does not go out at night.
19 She puts her hands to the distaff, and her hands hold the spindle.
20 She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy.
21 She is not afraid of snow for her household, for all her household are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes bed coverings for herself; her clothing is fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is known in the gates when he sits among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them; she delivers sashes to the merchant.
25 Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.
26 She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
27 She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates. ~ Proverbs 31:10-31 (ESV)

Brothers and Sisters in Christ, today I share with you the single most important reason why I am the man I am today, outside of the Lord: my wife.

When you read about what a Proverbs 31 wife looks like, in my opinion, it’s not about what she does or does not do.  To me, a Proverbs 31 wife is the epitome of a woman that loves the Lord, and brothers and sisters, my wife Cindy is just such a woman.  Cindy and I have been through a great deal the last couple of years; deaths in the family, the loss of our dog Regan, and the loss of my job.  Throughout it all, the one mantra that has been on the lips of Cindy and myself has always been “Trust in the Lord”.  We learn in this game called life that it is through our adversity that we draw on the Lord and each other the most, and my friends, I’m here to tell you, Cindy and I have never been closer to one another than we are right now.  I don’t say that to say that we weren’t good before all of this chaos began — in fact, quite the opposite.  But this adversity has shown us just how blessed we are, despite the financial concern that we live under.

So today I lift up my wife Cindy to you all, the best example of a Proverbs 31 wife I know.  However, she is not alone in that honor; my Mom is in that category, as is my sister Robin, as well as her girls Stephanie and Leslie and her daughter-in-law Tara; my sisters-in-law Nancy, Ann, Sandy, and Kim; my friend Leslie Watkins is a Proverbs 31 wife.  My friend Amanda, who we have been praying for her husband Daniel, is one. The list goes on and on.

My brothers, do you have a Proverbs 31 wife?  If not, then I urge you to use these verses as criteria for trying to find that perfect partner.  Pray to God for guidance, to show you the woman you are meant to be with, and don’t give up, regardless of how old you are.  Remember, Abram believed the LORD, and he credited it to him as righteousness. (Genesis 15:6 NIV)  Abram (soon to be known as Abraham) was 100 when Isaac his son was born; his wife Sarah was 90.  If you are not married yet, remember to have faith that God will work that out for you in His perfect timing.  I will pray with you on this journey.  Also, if you are married but your wife is not a Proverbs 31, then pray for her.  Tell me, and I’ll pray for her as well.  God’s love for all of us knows no bounds, and absolutely He would love to transform your wife into a Proverbs 31 wife.  Nothing is impossible, my brothers and sisters.  Ask God, and He will light your path.

Now, please pray with us — we have a lot of prayer requests this week, and we need all of the prayers we can get in this dark world.

Prayer Requests and Praises

  • We start off with my friend Amanda and her prayer request for her husband Daniel: The test results were not the results we wanted. They show disease progression. Daniel has a new tumor on his upper lobe of his left lung. The other three tumors on the bottom lobes are still there – two are active and all three have grown. The tumor on his liver is more active and has grown. The tumors didn’t grow much but they did grow and they are more active.
    He has had a harder time recovering from chemo rounds and we have had to go from chemo every two weeks to chemo every three and it’s not cutting it.

    We are moving to a different chemo – FolFox. The same regimen, except we replace the iriniotecan with oxaliplatin. This is the regimen they normally try first but we have avoided because of the risk of severe neuropathy. Daniel already has neuropathy from his diabetes so there is a larger chance it will be permanent and debilitating. Our biggest fear with the neuropathy is his stomach as he already has gastroparesis, which is neuropathy in his stomach. If the neuropathy gets too bad, we will have to stop this regimen. We will do 4 rounds of the FolFox regimen and scan to see how it’s working. If this doesn’t work, there is a less effective pill regimen and/or we can look at clinical trials.

    I am asking if everyone can put him on whatever prayer list you have. Specific prayers are for the FolFox to kick this cancer’s butt, showing great progress and results at our scan in a few months; for there to be no effects of neuropathy – or at least not debilitating or permanent; that his body can recover faster from this regimen so he can stay on the 2 week schedule, and that his mind and spirits stay strong. Also, please continue to pray for Cate. Thank you so much for your continued prayers, positive thoughts and support! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to each of you!

  • My friend Jodi has a some prayer requests: Can you pray for my son Kyle, please? He got a new job with Dodge, but they have yet to give him a start date, and they are giving him a bit of a runaround today. He’s getting anxious and frustrated!
    Also my niece Cami had melted candle wax accidentally splashed on her face the other day and has several 2nd degree burns. Please pray for healing. Thanks!

    • Regarding the Dodge prayer request, Jodi has a revision: Dodge is still giving him the runaround, so he has applied with what was actually his first choice, Sterling Chevrolet. He talked/informally interviewed with one of the two managers responsible for hiring and completely impressed her. She asked him to return Monday to talk with the other guy. Kyle really feels this is the right fit. He said he’d had an uncomfortable feeling about Dodge and perhaps the delay has been part of God’s plan all along. Please continue prayers, and I will keep you posted! Thank you!
  • Also, continued prayers for Jodi on the bank fraud investigation that is ongoing.
  • We continue my friend Brandi’s prayer request: “I’d really appreciate some prayers for Tyson. God knows the details so if you’d just lift him and us up, I’d be so thankful!”
  • We also continue Shannan’s prayer request for her friend Laura: Laura’s 16 year old daughter Beth passed away in July after battling cancer. Laura is understandably taking it very hard, and has requested more time off from work. Prayer requests are for to not lose her job as she fears she might, and prayers for God’s Peace, Comfort, Strength, and Love to descend upon Laura and all of her family and friends in their grief.
  • Shannan also asks for prayers for herself: I’m supposed to be headed to Disney on Monday and I have some down with a horrible cold!
  • Leslie has a prayer request: Please include my family in your prayers. I am having a difficult time with a relationship and I am enlisting the help of family members to try to improve things. Stuff is changing, and that can be scary.
  • Cindy’s co-worker Tommy is in the hospital with a stroke, but he seems to be recovering well. Pray for him and his healing and for his family as well. Thanks!
  • My friend Jennifer has a prayer request for her son: “Okay you guys I’m stressing out over this tomorrow is my first little guys surgery he will have to go under anesthesia for several hours I’m very scared about this I love my son so much I know this is routine and I know they do this every day with children his age but I’m just so scared something might happen please pray for me and my stress level and of course please please please pray for my son he will be having surgery tomorrow”
  • Prayers for Sheila: “So this happend yesterday welcome to the holiday season. I sprained my ankle and tore some ligaments.”
  • Prayers for my friends Monica, Doug, and Maddy: Doug has been in the hospital, but is getting home today. Prayers for healing, and for Peace, Comfort, and Strength moving forward.
  • Prayer request for my friend Lynda who is having a medical procedure and will be out for a bit.
  • My friend Angela needs some prayers and healing team. Here’s her post, please pray: Please keep me in prayer…the night before my trip to VA, I hit the back of the top of my head extremely hard on the bottom corner of my television. Since then, I have had a severe headache with nausea (and vomiting)and a tremendous amount of increasing pain in the area I hit. In addition to this, my right eye is feeling odd and watery. Everytime I sit or stand up I feel worse. I apologize for not responding to the messages I am receiving but will when I feel better. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

That’s a lot of prayers, my brothers and sisters.  Thank you for taking the time to pray for each of these, and please know that we will pray for you all if you ask us to.  We have a Facebook Group — feel free to click the link to request to join the group.  It’s nothing but believers praying for each other, lifting each other up on our need.  Let’s close, though, by praying the prayer that Jesus taught us to pray:

Our Father, who art in Heaven,
Hallowed be Thy Name.

Thy Kingdom Come, Thy Will be done
On Earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive those that trespass against us.

Lead us not into temptation
But deliver us from evil.

For Thine is the Kingdom, and Power, and Glory
Forever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

