Prayers for the Week: The Perils of Political Correctness

rev-3-16

14And to the angel of the church in Laodicea write: ‘The words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s creation. 15‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! 16So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. 17For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. 18I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see. 19Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent. 20Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. 21The one who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne. 22He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.'” ~ Revelation 3:14-22 (ESV)

My friends, welcome to this week’s Prayers for the Week post.  Today I’m writing to you regarding a difficult subject, one that many of you may be distressed by.  I’m referring to the world we live in, the world of political correctness, and how we allow far too many things to be defined by that unfortunate term.  The problem with political correctness is that it filters into our churches, into the message we receive, where so many of us are hearing the Word watered down.  For far too many of us, when we go to church, we hear only certain verses preached.  Rarely do we hear about what the consequences of our sin is; far too often we are all considered children of God, even if one has never accepted Jesus as their Lord and Savior.  The unfortunate reality is that too many people believe that because they go to church, because they give offerings to the church, because they take communion, because they are, in essence, good people, that they are saved, and that they are going to Heaven.

The simple fact is this: if you have not accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior, you will NOT get into Heaven when you die. There are three things that you need to believe:

  1. You must believe by faith that Jesus Christ is the Son of God, and that He was sent down to Earth in human form by God.
  2. You must believe that Jesus lived a sinless life, and that He died on the Cross as payment for the sins of the world.
  3. You must believe that Jesus was raised from the dead by God on the third day, and that he walked among us afterwards before Ascending to Heaven.

If you are saved, then you already believe those things.  If you have never heard this before, and you want to gain Eternal Life with our God and Savior, Jesus Christ, and you want to achieve this right now, then pray with all your heart the following prayer:

Thank you, God, for loving me…and for sending Your Son to die for my sins.
I sincerely repent of my sins…and receive Jesus Christ as my personal savior.
Now, as your child…I turn my life over to You. AMEN

It is a very simple prayer, so simple that a child could say it.  It’s not the prayer itself that gains you eternal life, although the words certainly do help.  In reality, though, it is your heart that speaks to God through this prayer that tells Him that you are sincere in your prayer.  Anyone can say those words, but if they do not believe them in the essence of their soul, then they will not be saved.  It is my hope that all of you come to know Jesus as your Lord and Savior as I know Him.  Knowing Him will help you in all of the trials that the world throws at you.  Knowing that Jesus is with you will give you the strength and fortitude to go on, even on days when you are afraid that you are going to lose everything.  Knowing Jesus is knowing that you have a someone on your side, your Savior, knowing that He Loves You, and He will look after you.  It is the best feeling in the world.

Now, please join us in our prayer requests this week.

Prayer Requests and Praises

  • My friend Debbie has a prayer request: I have a private prayer request as well; prayers for the children of broken families; prayers that the parents would not take out their anger and frustration out on the children; prayers that everyone involved in a divorce would put their children first.  Prayers that God would reach down to them all and touch them with His loving touch, and that they would appreciate what they have more. See John 14Psalm 27Matthew 6:19-34, and more for inspiration from God’s Word.
  • Prayers for the sister-in-law of my friend Jodi. She has been fighting cancer and we have prayed for her in the past. Here is what Jodi wrote: Calling on all my prayer warrior friends! Many of you are aware my sister-in-law (or sister-in-love, as she always called it) is losing a long-fought battle with a rare cancer. She is in a bad condition now and is likely nearing her final days. Please, please, please keep her in prayer, as well as my brother (her hubby–they just celebrated 25th anniversary) and her children and grandchildren and extended family. Our hearts are completely & utterly broken, but we know Jesus is anxiously waiting to welcome his faithful servant home.
  • My cousin Deb has a prayer request: Healing for donnies toe and for Jessica Hatton to be cured from Lyme disease. Thank you Jesus for my family.
  • My friend Maureen has a prayer request: To be able to follow God’s will- patience for it to come to fruition. Thank you Mike Ellis.
  • My friend Debbie gives praise to God for the quiet solitude that a day’s fishing can bring, especially when fishing alone.
  • Prayers to all of those in our world today — and to their families — that are suffering from some form of memory loss, whether it be Dementia or Alzheimers, or something else.
  • Prayers also for those that are battling cancer.
  • Continued prayers for my friend Amanda and her husband Daniel, who is battling cancer.  Here is what Amanda wrote: I am sorry for the delayed update. Cate is involved in a young entrepreneur experiment, the event was Saturday so it was all hands on deck for inventory production! Daniel’s scan was deemed mixed results to therapy by the radiologist reading it. Here’s the details: No new tumors; the tumors on his lungs have grown but were not active; the tumor on his liver did not grow or shrink but was less active than last scan. The oncologist was “happy” with the scan in that it doesn’t show disease progression but we aren’t really making much progress towards remission. The infusion nurses were happy and thought there was a slight chance the tumors in the were bigger because they were necrotic. That would awesome if it is true! The other piece to consider is the past several months Daniel’s platelets have been too low to follow the every 2 weeks chemo regimen so we have been having chemo every 3 weeks most of the time. Normally, these scan results would mean to continue on current therapy regimen but because of the delays, we may need to change it up. One of my prayers has been answered in there is a new chemo regimen for colon cancer treatment. This isn’t a next line used when the current treatment isn’t working. This is a new chemo for first line treatment. That’s huge because it means we still have the second and third lines of treatment if/when we need them. We will talk to the oncologist about this new line when we get back from our trip on Cate’s fall break. We will scan again in 3 months. So for this update, our prayer requests are that we continue to stay the same or get better, the new chemo is effective and easier on Daniel, that Daniel begin to feel better and recover from chemo faster, and a special one for Cate as she’s been struggling with the cancer thing a little more these days. I think it’s the stress of the start of school that is making it harder to deal with. Also a prayer of thanks for the “not bad” scan results, for our clinicians and researchers, for the new treatments being found every day and for each of you. We also had a friend that was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer from a rash he had. He went through one chemo session and passed away. He leaves a family behind that did not have the same grace and blessing God has provided us. Please pray for his family. So all in all, we are hanging in there and almost status quo. Thank you for your continued prayers and support! And thank you for sending us your special prayer requests so we can do the same for you. Please keep them coming! Have a safe and happy fall, everyone!
  • My friend Caroline has a prayer request: Ongoing prayers for our search committee to discern God’s will for the position of minister of music.
  • Also, my friend Hayden has a prayer request: Mike, for my mom. She’s coming thru a bone marrow/stem cell transplant, hoping to put her bone cancer in remission. She was diagnosed right before Mother’s Day this year and lived in Apex.
  • Lastly, prayers for all of those that don’t know what they need prayers for, or for those that are afraid of prayer, or afraid of asking, afraid of showing weakness.  May God help all of us during those times.

Now, please pray with me the prayer that Jesus taught us to pray:

Our Father, who art in Heaven,
Hallowed be Thy Name.

Thy Kingdom Come, Thy Will be done
On Earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive those that trespass against us.

Lead us not into temptation
But deliver us from evil.

For Thine is the Kingdom, and Power, and Glory
Forever and ever. Amen.

10 thoughts on “Prayers for the Week: The Perils of Political Correctness

  1. My friend Sandra has a prayer request: It worked so wonderfully before. The Davis family once again needs all of your prayers for two of our aunts both diagnosed with cancer over the last week. We also lost an uncle last week.Please pray that test results come back with good prognosis. Thank you for the continued love and support from all our family and friends.

    Like

  2. My friends in Master Control and the TOC areas of UNC-TV are facing the same situation that I was a year ago; the realization that their jobs are being eliminated and replaced with an outsource situation. For those friends that I’ve known for years, my prayers go out to them. To those in senior management at UNC-TV who are making these horrific decisions, I pray that they realize the consequences of their actions — that it’s not the station that is impacted, it’s the livelihood of so many people who have given years of service to the mission of UNC-TV, only to see their employer turn their backs on them. Please join me in praying for my friends that are losing their jobs, and also for those that are still employed there, that they would not be faced with such circumstances too.

    Like

  3. A beautiful prayer request from my brother-in-Christ Bob: Today is International Day of Peace and there is violence and unrest in my city. This is not the city I grew up in. This is not the world I want my children to grow up in. Please take a moment to pray tonight. Pray for eyes to be opened and the love of Christ to be shared. Pray for an end to violence and hate.

    Lord, we need You. For only You can bring peace to our broken world. You are our Redeemer. You are our Strong Tower. May Your mercy and strength never leave us. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

    Be the light in the darkness. Look for the light each day. Do what you can to spread love in the world.

    Like

  4. My friend Amanda has a prayer request: Mike, you are such an amazing person and I thank you! We have a friend who just found out their son’s voice box is paralyzed meaning he will be on a feeding tube a trach for the rest of his life. Please pray for God to send them guidance and peace. They haven’t lost their faith and know this is part of God’s plan.

    Like

  5. My friend Tabitha has a prayer request: I am asking my praying friends to remember a special client of mine that has become a friend to me – she had planned a Disney trip for this year with her parents and had to be postponed due to her dad finding out he has cancer. They re-scheduled and her dad is undergoing chemo but things have taken a turn and she is on her way to probably say goodbye. Please pray her family makes it in time to say goodbye (they leave today), safe travels and if God so chooses, a miracle that her family takes an immediate turn for improvement. My heart is breaking for them!

    Like

  6. My friend Angie has a praise to share: 20 years ago today my dad received a liver transplant! I am ever so thankful for his donor and their family! Without their unselfish act my family’s lives would be so different! I love my daddy! Be an organ donor!

    Like

  7. My friends Julie and Jason have a praise regarding their children: So the boys were talking about Greek God’s….Joshua was explaining to Jackson that they didn’t believe in God. Jackson was like is anyone going to talk to them about him? Then he proceeds to say he will do it because everyone needs to know about God and Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

