PFTW: Poems, Prayers, and Promises

psalm-100-1

This past Tuesday, I went to Virginia to work with a client on her computer.  That sort of trip is one that involves a lot of windshield time, the trip was about 5 hours each way, and as I was listening to my music, a song came on from John Denver called “Poems, Prayers and Promises”.  As soon as I heard it, I realized that there was a message in that title for each of us, and this post was given life.  For this post today, I’m going to share things with you from each aspect of that song title, starting now with poems.

Poems

1 Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth!2 Serve the Lord with gladness!Come into his presence with singing!3 Know that the Lord, he is God!It is he who made us, and we are his;we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.4 Enter his gates with thanksgiving,and his courts with praise!Give thanks to him; bless his name!5 For the Lord is good;his steadfast love endures forever,and his faithfulness to all generations. ~ Psalm 100 (ESV)

When I think of Biblical poems, I am immediately reminded of the Psalms.  To be honest, though, I don’t know them nearly as well as I think I ought to know them, and I had a hard time finding the one I wanted to share today. But when I did come to Psalm 100, and read the first line, “Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth!” I immediately thought of my daughter Sophie.  Sophie has been making a joyful noise her entire life, from the moment she was born, the sounds of her cries brought tears of joy to the eyes of my wife Cindy and I.  Then, when she was a toddler, and her best friend’s brother was being baptized, she was up at the altar during Children’s Church playing “Itsy Bitsy Spider” with one of the choir members — to the dismay of Cindy and I, and to the utter joy of Dr. Elliot, our pastor.  Now, she makes her joyful noise as part of the choir, or in singing her solo during Music and Arts Camp earlier this month, and I am just as proud of the Christian Woman she has become now as I was then.  This Psalm reminds me of her, but in reality, she reminds me each and every day that we need to make a joyful noise to the Lord, and Cindy and I learn from her as much as she learns from us.

Prayers

Of course, we’re all about prayer here in this post, so let’s share some prayer requests.  Please pray for all of these throughout the week.

  • My cousin Beth has a prayer request. Here is what she wrote: Please say some prayers if you will for my Grandmother. She will be 96 on Sept 6th and has had a fall and has broken her left femur right below the ball joint. She will have surgery in the morning, and a long and painful recovery ahead. We’re asking for all the prayers we can get for her!!!
  • My good friend Alex has a prayer request.  Here is what he writes: Prayer request for the people of Louisiana and California, both of whom have been hit by disasters recently. May the Lord give them strength through this difficult period.
  • My sister-in-law Kim has an unspoken request: Mine is an unspoken request but much needed! Thx
  • My friend Stephanie has a request as well: Please pray for my family. My great uncle passed away this afternoon at age 76.
  • My Aunt Kitty has a prayer request: Pray for the people whose house burned down or was flooded or torn to shreds by 8 tornado.
    They really need help. Love your prayer days.

Promises

1Now on the first day of the week Mary Magdalene came to the tomb early, while it was still dark, and saw that the stone had been taken away from the tomb. 2So she ran and went to Simon Peter and the other disciple, the one whom Jesus loved, and said to them, “They have taken the Lord out of the tomb, and we do not know where they have laid him.” 3So Peter went out with the other disciple, and they were going toward the tomb. 4Both of them were running together, but the other disciple outran Peter and reached the tomb first. 5And stooping to look in, he saw the linen cloths lying there, but he did not go in. 6Then Simon Peter came, following him, and went into the tomb. He saw the linen cloths lying there, 7and the face cloth, which had been on Jesus’ head, not lying with the linen cloths but folded up in a place by itself. 8Then the other disciple, who had reached the tomb first, also went in, and he saw and believed; 9for as yet they did not understand the Scripture, that he must rise from the dead. 10Then the disciples went back to their homes. ~ John 20:1-10 (ESV)

Now, please pray with us the prayer that Jesus taught His Disciples to pray:

Our Father, who art in Heaven,
Hallowed be Thy Name.

Thy Kingdom Come, Thy Will be done
On Earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread
And forgive us our trespasses,
As we forgive those that trespass against us.

Lead us not into temptation
But deliver us from evil.

For Thine is the Kingdom, and Power, and Glory
Forever and ever. Amen.

One thought on “PFTW: Poems, Prayers, and Promises

  1. Your prayers for me were answered this last week. Thinks are busy, my efforts are paying off very well, and the praise goes all to Jesus, my savior.
    Carol W.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

