Proverbs 3:5

Proverbs 3:5-6

Hello everyone, and welcome to this week’s Prayers for the Week post!  Last week, we embarked on a new path with this site, taking a detour from our regular Prayers for the Week post that was over at My Dreams of Disney, and today we continue that journey.  Also like last week, today we are focusing on the book of Proverbs for some incredible words of wisdom from God.

As I stated in the tie in post over at My Dreams of Disney, the subject of today is Proverbs 3:5-6:

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not lean on your own understanding.
6In all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make straight your paths. ~ Proverbs 3:5-6 (ESV)

My brothers and sisters, I know firsthand just how hard it is to trust someone.  I know what it feels like when someone stabs you in the back, when they turn against you, when the process that you rely upon is proven faulty.  I know how hard it is to trust.

The question you may have is, why should I trust someone who it feels like is never there for me?  Why should I trust God to be there when I call on Him when I feel like there have been times I have called to Him and He hasn’t responded?  Why should I trust God?

The beautiful thing about the Bible, from my point of view, is that every situation you will ever encounter, or have ever encountered, is covered in the Bible.  The Bible is the Word of God, it is from Him to us, it is our guide, our rulebook, our pathway on how we should live our lives.  I know that this seems too easy, too simple, that when we are talking about God, it isn’t supposed to be that simple.  I also know that because it seems so simple, it makes it hard to believe, that it makes it seem like that can’t be the answer, there must be something more going on here.

In reality, though, it really is that simple.  The singular truth that you need to leave here remembering is this:

God Loves You.  That is why He sent His Son Jesus to die for your sins.

Proverbs 3:5-6 has it perfectly laid out for us.  Trust the Lord.  Don’t rely upon your own understanding.  Acknowledge God, and He will lead you on the right path.

Remember, trust God.  There is no way that our minds can understand Jesus coming down from Heaven, dying for us, and being resurrected back to life, except by God imprinting that on our hearts.  Trusting God is what it’s all about.  Now, please pray the prayer that Jesus taught us to pray:

Our Father, who art in Heaven,
Hallowed be thy name.
Thy Kingdom come, Thy Will be done,
On earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread,
And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.
Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.
For thine is the Kingdom, and the Power, and the Glory forever and ever. Amen.

One thought on “Proverbs 3:5

  1. Pingback: Prayers for the Week - Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

