Prayers for the Week – Doing our Best

In the end, the things you do are between you and God.

In the end, the things you do are between you and God.

Hello everyone, and welcome to this week’s Prayers for the Week post.  Today I wanted to touch a little bit about putting your best effort.  There are so many issues with our country, our world, perhaps even ourselves, that I wanted to try and dive down into what the root of the problem may be…

Far too often I see myself doing just enough — and my friends, that is not good enough.  Writing that one statement, let me tell you, it isn’t easy.  The moment you type it, you think about it, and you see yourself in situations where far too many things have been “just good enough” to get by.  The moment that hits you, it convicts you, and you realize that maybe you have been sinning the sin of Pride, thinking that you’ve got this, you don’t need anyone else to take care of it.  I can handle it all by myself.

Sorry my friends, but that just isn’t the case.  Don’t rely on yourself — trust in God, and ask Him for help.  He will not let you down.

It boggles my mind sometimes to think about how much we give towards others — but neglect our own family at times.  Do you experience this in your lives?  Is this your experience?  I’m sorry to say that, at times, yes, this is me.

Doing our best — that is what it comes down to.  If you do your best, if you try your hardest, well, that is all anyone can ask of you, isn’t it.

Prayer Requests

  • Lord, I ask that you remind me to continue to do my best in every situation.  Please be gentle but firm, and remind me of the things that are most important in my life.  I don’t claim to be perfect, and would never admit to thinking I was, but there are some things that I can do better, Lord.  You know what they are, help me to improve upon them.  It’s in Jesus’ name that I pray with Thanksgiving!  Amen.

Also, please continue the prayers from last week.  They are listed next in our list of prayer requests:

  • Russell left a prayer request for us last Sunday; here is what he wrote:  “Please say a prayer for me. I have Parkinsonism now I was told I have a deep Brain tumor. Tomorrow I will be seeing my Neurologist and a Brain Surgeon.”This was my reply to Russell, please pray along with me:Lord, your servant Russell hashealth problems, that you know all about. Please Lord, if it is in your Will, please heal Russell of all of his afflictions; also, please guide the hands of his medical team as he deals with all of these conditions. Lord, we also pray for Russell’s family — please help them in their sorrow and worry, keep them close, allow them to help Russell, and grant the whole family Peace, Comfort, and the Strength to deal with this and to help Russell through these ordeals. Lord, while his body may be suffering, please keep his Faith strong, and his Mind sharp, so that the can give as much time as possible to You and Your Word, and use him as a shining example of the Glory of God. It is in the name of your Son Jesus that we pray with Thanksgiving! Amen.”
  • Please pray for the family of my friend Mary; her son was lost last night to Pancreatic Cancer after a 2 year battle. Pray for their family, for his wife, for all of them to have God’s Peace in their time of grief, and pray for their comfort and strength as the pick up the pieces that we call life. Thanks everyone!
  • Please pray for my friend Dave and his family; their dog Annie passed away after 13 years.  Here is what Dave wrote: “Our sweet Annie dog after 13 years with the family went gently to doggy heaven in my lap tonight. She was the best dog ever, brave, loyal, true, sweet, friendly, loving and calm.”
  • Also, my cousin Beth went with one of her friends as she had to lay her dog down; please be with her also.  I don’t know Beth’s friends name, but God does, and He will be with her.
  • Please also pray with me regarding all of the killings that we have been reading about that involve teenagers doing the killing.  In my opinion, this is further evidence that our world is fallen, and even more of a reason to make sure you know Jesus and that He knows you!
  • Lastly, please pray for all of our unknown prayer requests; those requests that we haven’t been told about.  There are millions of them out there, so please pray for them as well!

Praises!

  • We have now had Regan for two weeks, and he has really done well in his fur-ever home!  Praises to God for him in our lives, he truly is a Gentle Giant!
  • This prayers for the week post is a small ministry of mine, and I don’t do it for any accolades at all.  However, I would like to give praise to Stephanie, who wrote last week:“I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy reading your prayers every week. While I read your prayers, I say my own prayers for family, friends, and people in my community. God Bless!!
  • Lastly, a special thanks and praise to all of my family and friends, wherever they are!  I have so many, in that regard I am such a blessed man!

My friends, these prayer posts are for you; please take the time to read and pray over these, and add your own prayer requests as well.  The more we pray, the better off we will be.  Have a great week everyone, and thanks for stopping by!  If we all do our best, life will be so much better for all of us!

 

10 thoughts on “Prayers for the Week – Doing our Best

  1. My son starts first grade tomorrow and my daughter starts preschool. Please pray for them to be surrounded by teachers and children who will point them to God and encourage them to grow to love him more.

    Like

    • You’ve got it, Lori. I know it’s an emotional time, especially for us parents, so I’ll pray for you also! God looks out for us, and He will look out for your son and daughter also! Keep us posted please on how it’s going for them, and thanks!

      IHS,

      Mike

      Like

  2. My friend Ami posted this on her Facebook account, please pray for her little dog Millie:

    Prayers for my little Millie please. All of a sudden she started vomiting and having bloody- looking stools. Running her to the emergency vet right now.

    Lord, may you provide the healing that Millie needs, and please supply Ami with a strong dose of Your Peace so that she can be strong for her special one. Thank you, it’s in the name of Jesus that we pray! Amen!

    Like

  3. My friend Joanna needs some prayers for her parents. Here is what she wrote on Facebook:

    My dad is in the hospital. Had chest & back pain in the night, went to the hospital in an ambulance. Initial tests says it wasn’t a heart attack, but more tests have to be run. Mom had major foot surgery on Wednesday & is still on pain killers. Please pray for them both.

    Please pray with me:

    Lord, please look after your servants as they battle health issues. They are both in need of the healing that You can provide for them, and their daughter Joanna needs Your Peace to keep her calm and to give her the strength she will need to help her parents in the days to come. Lord, please look after them all, and give them the healing that they need. It is in the name of Jesus that we pray with Thanksgiving. Amen!

    Like

  4. Please pray for my friend Beth’s nephew Dustin, who we have prayed over before. He is currently cancer free, but his platelets were low, and he is sick to his stomach over some treatment. Please pray for God to calm down his stomach so he can get some medications in him before a procedure tomorrow, and pray that he and his family would get a break in their fight.

    Also, please pray for all of the other cancer patients that exist, both pediatric cases like Dustin’s case and non-pediatric cases. Cancer is a horrible disease, please pray for an end to this horrific disease.

    Thanks, my friends, and God Bless you all!

    Like

  5. Please pray for my wife’s Uncle Ted. He has been diagnosed with stage 4 colon cancer and will be starting chemotherapy soon. He has been told that he has about 6 months if he doesn’t start the chemo and about 2 years if he does it. Uncle Ted is a strong Christian of much faith, and he is praying for God to give him 10 years instead of just 2. Of course, none of us know when our time will come, so it is in God’s hands. However, please pray healing prayers for Uncle Ted, and also prayers for comfort and strength in the days and weeks and months to come. Also, please pray for our family as well, that we would have God’s Peace descend upon us so that we would be calm, and that we will have the strength to deal with this in any way that we need to. Your prayers mean a great deal to me, and I appreciate it very much. Thanks everyone!

    Like

  6. Please pray for my family as we learned today that my Uncle Bob passed away yesterday from pneumonia. He was my dad’s oldest brother and he got to go visit with him before he passed away. He didn’t suffer long, he lived a good long life, he was a veteran of the Army, and he was a painter. He was 79. Please pray for his friends as well that new him best in Massachusetts as they deal with not having him in their lives like they used to. Thanks everyone.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Prayers for the Week - September 15, 2013 - My Dreams of Disney

Leave a Reply

