Prayers for the Week – The Bible IS the Word of God

Proverbs 30:5-6

A friend and I were talking the other day; we discussed how different the world is now from when we were kids.  My friend told me that the world is actually safer now than it was when we were kids — but what had changed was that we are so connected to everything that happens everywhere that we are, in many respects, being bombarded by information overload.  When you think about it, the old adage, “Ignorance is bliss,” can truly be counted as a blessing.

What does that have to do with the Bible verse that I shared with you today as the opening for Prayers for the Week post?  Well, the way I see it, Proverbs 30: 5-6 shares a warning for us all — to remember that the Bible is the Word of God, and that we should accept it in it’s entirety, and not to read anything extra into it.

At times, I need to remember that we live in a fallen world, and that the god of this world is none other than Satan, the Prince of Darkness.  His goal is to turn as many of us from God as he can, and the best way he does this is by introducing doubt and uncertainty into the world, and by getting us to doubt the things that we need to rely upon everyday of our lives.  In my life, I try really hard to focus on five crucial things:

  1. To remember that the Bible is the inherent Word of God.
  2. To remember that Jesus gave Himself up on the Cross for me, to save me from my sin.
  3. To remember to give Jesus thanks for dying on the cross for me, and every day I pray to God to take care of us all.
  4. To try to get in some reading in the Bible to arm and equip me throughout the day.
  5. To strive very hard to share my faith with others and witness for my Lord.  Too often I fail in this endeavour, but I keep trying.

The world is so much smaller now, so much more connected, and yes, there are a lot of problems, but it seems to me that far too often we are trying to remake the world as we want it to be, and not asking God to make the world the way He would have it.

We are flawed, my friends; we sin, we are far from perfect, and we rely far too much upon ourselves and not nearly enough on God.  I am the perfect example of this — far too often I sow my own road — often without even knowing where that road leads!

It is my belief that the Bible IS the Word of God, and that nothing needs to be changed in that regard.  If we keep our eyes on the Lord, and ask Him for guidance in the path we should take, He will lead us down the path that we should be walking, and head straight towards the Promised Land.  It really comes down to trusting and obeying God, doesn’t it?

Well, my friends, I hope you think about your relationship with God, and how strong it is.  Do you tell God what to do, or do you ask Him to lead you the way you should be led?  I think for me, the answer is both — but I am striving to allow myself to be led by my Lord.  I urge you to do the same if you aren’t already.

Praises!

  • Lord, I would like to thank you for all the fathers that you have put on the earth.  Thank you in particular for my Dad, for his health, love, praise, and discipline when I needed it.  Thank you for allowing me to learn so much more from him than I ever thought he had to teach me — and for being able to recognize the truth in so many of his teachings now that I am a dad.  Lastly, Lord, please allow my Dad to be with us for many more years, so that I could continue to learn from him and pass that wisdom on to Sophie.
  • Lord, I would also like to thank you for keeping us safe this week, and for prayers answered, for worries displaced, and for helping us to raise our daughter to be a Child of God.  Please keep her safe during the summer, and help us to help her develop good habits during the summer so that she can continue those habits for years to come.
  • Lord, I would also like to thank you for my summer Bible study group of men.  We are going strong through the summer, which is new to me, and I ask that you keep us focused on our study so that we could continue all the way until the Mens Study continues in the fall.  Thank you for all that you have given to us each week, and please keep all of our men and their families safe during the weeks ahead.
  • Lord, I would like to give Highest praise to you for my friend Tabitha, whose son was baptized last Sunday! Praise the Lord for another Brother in Christ to celebrate!  One more Brother in Christ is one less soul that could belong to Satan!
  • Prayers and Praise for the sister of my friend Kuleen! She gave birth to her baby during the week! Congratulations for them all, may they all be safe from harm!
  • Lord, thank you for the gift you have given to my friends Chris and Early — the gift of loving and adopting a beautiful little girl from Poland. We have prayed for her and them before, and You answered our prayers. She recently celebrated her 2nd birthday, and she has adapted to her new lift very well, so thank you Lord!
  • Lastly, Lord, I thank you for the gifts that you have given to me — particularly, this gift of writing that allows me to reach out to people all over the world and share my hopes and fears with them, to pray for them, and to invite them to share their prayers and praises with me.  It is out of this gift that I have been able to initiate my own small ministry to help those (through prayer) that have no voice of their own.  Lord, please allow this to expand and spread throughout the world even more.  Thank you God!

Prayer Requests:

  • Please pray for my friend Scarlett. She posted this on Facebook:“There is a celebration in heaven as my aunt passed away a few minutes ago. She is reunited with her ten brothers and sisters and her Mother and Father. Yes, the sting of death is for those left behind.”

    Please pray for her and her family, and celebrate her Aunt and her life at the same time. Thanks!

  • Please continue to pray for my cousin Kelly, who is undergoing a procedure on Monday and is nervous about it. She has been battling for several months now, so this is the next step in that treatment plan, but it is a big step. Also, please keep my Aunt Ginny and my Aunt Carol in your prayers as well as they continue to battle their own diseases. Also, please keep my cousin Barb’s husband Tim in your prayers as well. Healing prayers for all of these people, please, and thank you!
  • Please keep my friend Melissa in your prayers — and also prayers for her dog Lucy. Lucy has a disease and needs to have one of her legs amputated, so please pray for her healing and for her family as well. I know it may seem odd to be praying for a dog to some of you, but it is important because dogs, cats, and other animals that we have in our lives are part of our families, a very important part, and when they are ill, it affects the whole family as well, so please lift them up as well. We are all God’s creations, and Lucy is no exception. Thanks everyone!
  • Continued prayers for my cousin Barb’s husband Tim. He is almost finished with his cancer treatments, only 2 more treatments to go and then they see the doctor again to see how things look. He’s in a bunch of pain, though, so please continue the prayers for his healing and comfort. Thanks!
  • As always, Lord, please look at the lost, those that don’t have the courage or voice to share their needs and concerns.  Please keep them close, all of them, and allow us to work through you to bring those that don’t know you into the family of believers.

Lord, please remind us throughout the week that You are near, and that You are in control of our lives.  Allow us to be receptive to what you would have us do, and to act on your will when You call on us.  It is in your name that we pray with Thanksgiving, Amen!

7 thoughts on “Prayers for the Week – The Bible IS the Word of God

  1. Prayers please for my friend Kristen, who is in need of a job. She has an application in and an interview tomorrow at Olive Garden, please Lord, keep her calm, focused, and give her the answers she needs to ace the interview and get the job.

    Thanks everyone!

    Mike

    Like

  2. I love reading this, and hearing how God is moving amongst His people. We had a very long journey, but Jim’s disability was approved so we just wait for a payment. This will allow me to continue as a teaching assistant one more year, get some great experience and prayerfully have a classroom of my own next year. Of course, we will see what God’s plans are!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Prayers for the Week - Praising God! | My Dreams of Disney

  4. Pingback: Prayers for the Week -- God is our Refuge | My Dreams of DisneyMy Dreams of Disney

  5. Pingback: Prayers for the Week - God's Word - My Dreams of Disney

  6. Pingback: Prayers for the Week - Praises! - My Dreams of Disney

Leave a Reply

